logo nano spa 1
  • Cabecera 1
    nanoscience and nanotechnology: small is different

2nd IMDEA Nanoscience celebrates The Nobel Prize Winners Symposium

Dra. Begoña Sot, Dr. Daniel Ortega and Prof. José María Valpuesta
(IMDEA Nanociencia and CNB-CSIC)
Thursday, 26 October 2017 12:00

Even if the leaves have not fallen yet, October is here, and this means that the Nobel Prizes has been awarded. Therefore, we would like to announce the 2nd IMDEA Nanociencia Nobel Prize Winners Symposium. It will take place next Tuesday, 24th at 12:00 in the hall. We are going to show the contributions of the awardees in three didactic (and short) presentations.

-Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine to M. Rosbash, M. Young and J.

Hall for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm (Dra. Begoña Sot)

-Nobel Prize for Physics, R. Weiss, B. Barish and K. Thorne for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves (Dr. Daniel Ortega)

-Nobel Prize for Chemistry, R. Henderson, J. Dubochet and J. Frank for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution (Prof. José María Valpuesta).

The attendance is strongly encouraged, particularly for PhD students.