logo nano spa 1
  • Cabecera 1
    nanoscience and nanotechnology: small is different

Description of the MSCA Fellowship Programme

The purpose of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship (IF) is to support the mobility of researchers and help attract promising foreign researchers to work in the European context (EU Member States and Associated Countries) or outside Europe. MSCA fellows will carry out their own research project in collaboration with the host institution, and thus have the chance to boost their career by developing new scientific competences and gaining international and collaborative research experience. If successful, the grant will provide a generous salary, a mobility allowance and an allocation for research and training costs.

There are two types of Individual Fellowships:

  • European Fellowships are held in the EU or associated countries and are open to researchers either coming to Europe or moving within Europe for a period of one to two years. This action can help researchers that resume their career after a break or move back to Europe.
  • Global Fellowships fund secondments outside Europe and are addressed to researchers whose Host Organization is based in the EU or associated Countries. Fellows work in the third country for a period of one to two years and must then return to their Host Organization for a period of one year.

Applicants must be experienced researchers (ER), at time of submission (9 September 2020); be in possession of a doctoral degree; or have at least 4 years of full-time equivalent research experience. Researchers may not have resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the host country (Spain) for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately before the call deadline. 

The grant usually provides an allowance to cover living, mobility and family costs. In addition, the EU contributes to the research, training and networking costs of the fellow, as well as to the management and indirect costs of the project. The researcher may be of any nationality and no age restrictions apply. The grant is awarded to the host organization.
Only one proposal per researcher may be submitted to this call.

The 2020 call has opened on 8 April 2020, and the final deadline for applications is 9 September 2020.