logo nano spa 1
  • Cabecera 1
    nanoscience and nanotechnology: small is different

Nobel Prize Winners Symposium

Tuesday, 13 November 2018 12:00

 banner nobelprize2018 WEB

We would like to announce the 3rd IMDEA Nanociencia Nobel Prize Winners Symposium. It will take place on Tuesday, 13th November at 12:00 in our Conference hall. We are going to show the contributions of the awardees in three didactic (and short) presentations.

- The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2018 was awarded jointly to James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo "for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation." (Dr. Pedro Roda-Navarro, Facultad de Medicina, UCM)

- The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded "for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics" with one half to Arthur Ashkin "for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems", the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland "for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses." (Dr. Ricardo Arias-Gonzalez, IMDEA-Nanociencia)

-The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 was divided, one half awarded to Frances H. Arnold "for the directed evolution of enzymes", the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter "for the phage display of peptides and antibodies (Dra. Begoña Sot, IMDEA-Nanociencia)

The attendance is strongly encouraged, particularly for PhD students.